The CWDM8 MSA (8-wavelength Coarse Wavelength Division Multiplexing Multi-Source Agreement) Group is an industry consortium dedicated to defining optical specifications and promoting adoption of interoperable 2 km and 10 km 400 Gb/s interfaces over duplex single-mode fiber.

The CWDM8 MSA was formed to meet the bandwidth and expansion needs of modern data centers and support deployment of 12.8T Ethernet switches and other advanced networking equipment with 50G SERDES. MSA participants are developing optical link specifications that will enable cost-effective, low power consumption 400G duplex single-mode optics using 50G per wavelength optical NRZ modulation, while maintaining full compatibility with standard 50G PAM4 electrical interfaces. These optical interfaces can be implemented in next-generation module form factors such as QSFP-DD, OSFP, and COBO, and are believed to have significant time to market and performance advantages compared to other approaches. MSA participants expect to address industry needs by advancing unique technologies to create a diverse and competitive supply chain, while providing products that are optically compatible and interoperable.


  • Accton Logo
  • AOI Logo
  • Barefoot Logo
  • Credo Logo
  • H3C Logo
  • Hisense Logo
  • Innovium Logo
  • Intel Logo
  • Keysight Logo
  • Macom Logo
  • Mellanox Technologies Logo
  • Neo photonics Logo
  • Nokia Logo
  • Rockley photonics Logo

CONTACT US for more information.